Tuesday, November 18, 2008

How to use ANOVA tools in Excel


Many functions require the calculation of the sum of squared deviations about a mean. To do this accurately, Microsoft Office Excel 2003 and later versions of Excel use a two-pass procedure that finds the mean on the first pass, and then calculates squared deviations about the mean on the second pass.

In precise arithmetic, the same result occurs in earlier versions of Excel that use the "calculator formula." This formula is so named because it was in widespread use when statisticians used calculators instead of computers. With the calculator formula, earlier versions of Excel sum the squares of the observations, and then subtract from this total the following quantity:

((sum of observations)^2) / number of observations

This calculation occurs in a single pass through the data.

In finite precision arithmetic, the calculator formula is subject to roundoff errors in extreme cases. Excel 2002 and earlier versions of Excel use the calculator formula for most functions that require a sum of squared deviations about a mean (such as VAR, STDEV, SLOPE, and PEARSON). However, these versions of Excel also use the more numerically robust two-pass procedure for the CORREL, COVAR, and DEVSQ functions.

Experts in statistical computing recommend that you do not use the calculator formula. The calculator formula is presented as "how not to do it" in texts about statistical computing. Unfortunately, all three of the Analysis ToolPak (ATP) ANOVA tools make widespread use of the calculator formula or an equivalent single-pass approach in Excel 2002 and in earlier versions of Excel.

Excel 2003 and later versions of Excel use the two-pass procedure for all three ATP ANOVA models. This article discusses the following computational improvements in ATP's three ANOVA models:
• Single Factor
• Two-Factor with Replication
• Two-Factor without Replication

Single Factor
A simple example with data is as follows.
ANOVA 1 BASIC MODEL:
1 2 3
2 4 4
3 6 5
4 8 6
5 --7
6 --8
Anova: Single Factor

SUMMARY
Groups Count Sum Average Variance
Column 1 6 ---21 --- 3.5 ----- 3.5
Column 2 4 --- 20 --- 5 ------- 6.666667
Column 3 6 --- 33 --- 5.5 ----- 3.5


ANOVA
Source of Variation SS df MS ----F --------P-value F crit
Between Groups 12.75 2 6.375 1.506818 0.257897 3.805567
Within Groups 55 13 4.230769

Total 67.75 15
Excel 2002 and earlier versions of Excel use the following pseudocode to calculate the sums of squares:

GrandSum = 0;
GrandSumOfSqs = 0;
GrandSampleMeanSqrd = 0;
GrandMeanSqrd = 0;
GrandSampleSize = 0;

For s = 1 to Number_of_Samples do
GrandSum = GrandSum + sum of observations in s-th sample;
GrandSumOfSqs = GrandSumOfSqs + sum of squared observations in s-th sample;
GrandSampleMeanSqrd = GrandSampleMeanSqrd +
(sum of observations in s-th sample^2)/size of s-th sample;
GrandSampleSize = GrandSampleSize + size of s-th sample
Endfor;

GrandMeanSqrd = (GrandSum^2) / GrandSampleSize;

TotalSS = GrandSumOfSqs – GrandMeanSqrd;
BetweenGroupsSS = GrandSampleMeanSqrd – GrandMeanSqrd;
WithinGroupsSS = GrandSumOfSqs – GrandSampleMeanSqrd;

This approach is essentially the calculator formula. This approach computes the sums of squares of observations, and then subtracts a quantity from them, just as VAR computes the sum of squares of the observations, and then subtracts sum of observations^2/sample size. Similar pseudocode for the model 2 and model 3 has been omitted.

Again, for model 2 and model 3, sums of squares are calculated and a quantity is subtracted from the sum of squares as in the calculator formula. Unfortunately, basic statistics texts frequently suggest approaches for ANOVA such as the one that is shown earlier in this article.

Excel 2003 and later versions of Excel use a different approach to calculate the various entries in the SS column of the ANOVA table. For illustration, this article assumes that the numeric data in the earlier example appear in cells A2:C7 with missing data in cells B6 and B7.
• Total SS is just DEVSQ applied to all the data, such as DEVSQ(A2:C7). DEVSQ works correctly even though data is missing.
• Between Groups SS is Total SS minus the sum of DEVSQ applied to each column, such as DEVSQ(A2:A7) + DEVSQ(B2:B7) + DEVSQ(C2:C7).
• Within Groups SS is Total SS minus Between Groups SS.

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

#VALUE error when you add text and values in Excel

In Microsoft Excel, when you perform a mathematical operation on cells that contain text and values, you may receive a #VALUE! error. In this post i will given some idea for Microsoft Excel Support to slove that type of problems.

Although some functions correctly evaluate cells and ignore text strings, if you add the cells by using arithmetic operators such as addition (+), subtraction (-), multiplication (*), or division (/), an error value may occur.

Do the following for Resolution

Instead of using an individual mathematical operator, use its equivalent worksheet function instead:
SUM (adds)
PRODUCT (multiplies)
QUOTIENT (divides)
For example, if you type the following information in cells A1:A7 of a worksheet

A1: 10
A2: text
A3: 20
A4: =A1+A2+A3
A5: =SUM(A1+A2+A3)
A6: =SUM(A1,A2,A3)
A7: =SUM(A1:A3)


the formulas in cells A4 and A5 return a #VALUE! error; however, cells A6 and A7 return the correct value of 30.

Friday, November 7, 2008

How to use startup folders in Excel

Folders that Excel uses at startup
If you install Excel in the default location, Excel opens files from the following paths:
• In Microsoft Office Excel 2003, the path is C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office11\Xlstart

In Microsoft Office Excel 2007, the path is C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\Xlstart
• C:\Documents and Settings\User_name\Application Data\Microsoft\Excel\XLSTART

In this path, User_name is your logon user name.
• The folder that is specified in the At startup, open all files in box

Note
To find the At startup, open all files in box in Excel 2003, click Options on the Tools menu, and then click the General tab.

To find the At startup, open all files in box in Excel 2007, click the Microsoft Office Button, click Excel Options, and then click Advanced. The At startup, open all files in box is under General.

Accepted file types during Excel startup

You typically use startup folders to load Excel templates and add-ins. You can also use startup folders to load workbooks. When you load the following types of files from a startup folder, the files have the important characteristics that are described in the following list.
Templates
If you save a workbook named Book.xlt, and then put it in a startup folder location, that workbook is the default workbook when you start Excel or open a new workbook.

To use additional templates, you must save them in the following folder:
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Templates\1033
To use the templates in Excel 2003, follow these steps:
1. On the File menu, click New.
2. In the New Workbook task pane, click On my computer under Templates.
3. In the Templates dialog box, double-click the template for the type of workbook that you want to create on the Spreadsheet Solutions tab.

To use the templates in Excel 2007, follow these steps:
1. Click the Microsoft Office Button, and then click New.
2. Under Templates, click Installed Templates.
3. Under Installed Templates, click the template that you want, and then click Create.
Add-ins
Add-ins (.xla files) that you put in a startup folder do not typically appear when you start Excel. The add-ins are loaded in memory. The add-ins run any auto macros.

You can use these add-ins by whatever method the add-in provides (for example, a command on a menu or a button on a toolbar).
Workbooks
Workbooks (.xls files) that you put in a startup folder are loaded and appear when you start Excel, unless the workbook is saved in a hidden state.

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

New Field button is unavailable in Show Field dialog boxes in Outlook

When you use the Field Chooser or Show Fields options in Microsoft Outlook, the resulting dialog boxes may display the New Field button as dimmed (unavailable), or if available, when you click the New Field button, you may receive the following message:
You do not have permission to add a custom field to the folder. Any field you create will appear only in the current view.

To fix this Outlook problem we have to care on You can only create MAPI folder to which you have sufficient privileges.

How to Access Show Field Option

To access the Show Fields option, on the View menu, point to Current View, point to Customize Current View, and then click Fields.

Note In Outlook 2003, on the View menu, point to Arrange By, point to Current View, click Customize Current View, and then click Fields.

The New Field button is not available for one of the following reasons:

- The current folder is a file system folder. For example, if the folder banner shows that the active folder is My Documents, then the New Field button will be unavailable.

- You do not have sufficient permissions to the selected MAPI folder. If the current folder is a MAPI folder, such as a public folder, you must have sufficient permissions to that folder to allow the creation of fields. Have the folder owner ensure create permission is available to you for the active folder. The folder owner, or another user with sufficient permissions, can access the permission settings for the folder by right-clicking the folder in the Outlook Bar or Folder List, and then clicking Properties on the shortcut menu.

To validate that the New Field button is working properly, follow these steps:

1. Select the Inbox or another MAPI folder to which you know you have sufficient permissions.
2. Right-click a column header and click Field Chooser on the shortcut menu.
3. Confirm that the New Field button is available by clicking the button

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Subscript characters are displayed incorrectly when you insert them in Excel 2003 or in Excel 2002

SYMPTOMS
When you insert subscript characters in Microsoft Office Excel 2003 or in Microsoft Excel 2002, the characters are displayed incorrectly. For example, an empty rectangle is displayed when you insert subscript one.

CAUSE
When you insert subscript characters, Excel 2003 and Excel 2002 use the Arial Unicode MS font if one of the following is not installed on the computer:
• An appropriate font, such as MS MIncho or MS Gothic
• Support files for the East Asian languages
The Arial Unicode MS font cannot resolve all characters correctly.

WORKAROUND
To work around this issue, use one of the following methods:

Method 1
Install the MS MIncho font or the MS Gothic font on the computer. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type Fonts, and then click OK.
2. Click Install New Font in the File menu.
3. In the Add Fonts dialog box, locate the font file for the MS MIncho font or for the MS Gothic font, and then click OK.

Method 2
Install the East Asian languages support files. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Click Start, click Run, type Intl.cpl, and then click OK.
2. Click the Languages tab, click the Install files for East Asian languages check box, and then click OK.

APPLIES TO
• Microsoft Office Excel 2003
• Microsoft Excel 2002 Standard Edition


source spport.microsoft.com

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Error message when you try to import or to export files in Outlook: "Microsoft Outlook cannot start the required translator"

SYMPTOMS
When you try to import or to export files in Microsoft Office Outlook 2003, you receive the following message:
Microsoft Office Outlook cannot start the required translator. This feature is not currently installed. Would you like to install it now?
Additionally, when you insert the Outlook 2003 CD-ROM or the Office 2003 CD-ROM, you may receive the following error message:

Error 1311. Source file not found C:/MSOCACHE/All Users

When you try to import or to export files in the 2007 Microsoft Office system, you may receive one of the following error messages:
Error 1334. The file '.SAM_1033' cannot be installed because the file cannot be found in cabinet file 'OutlkLR.CAB'. This could indicate a network error, an error reading from the CD-ROM, or a problem with this package.
The file ‘C:\MSOCache\All Users\{}\’ is not a valid installation package for the product () 2007. Try to find the installation package ‘OutlookMUI.msi’ in a folder from which you can install MUI () 2007.
Error 1706. Setup cannot find the required files. Check your connection to the network, or CD-ROM drive. For other potential solutions to this problem, see C:\DOCUME~1\\LOCALS~1\Temp\Setup0000043c\SETUP.CHM.


CAUSE
This issue occurs if certain translator files or certain database converters are not available because they were not installed during Setup. Converters in Outlook are installed on demand. Additionally, the local install source folder (Msocache) may be damaged or missing.

This issue also applies to third-party personal information management (PIM) files and to file types that use Open Database Connectivity (ODBC).

RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, use one of the following methods, as appropriate for the version of Outlook that you are running.

Outlook 2003
Click Yes when you receive the message that is mentioned in the "Symptoms" section of this article. After you click Yes, Microsoft Windows Installer starts and then installs the database converters and translator files for the file that you want to import or to export.

If this resolution does not resolve the issue, run the Microsoft Office Setup program and install the filters directly. To do this, follow these steps:
1. Exit Outlook 2003.
2. Remove the Msocache folder. For more information about how to remove the Msocache folder, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
825933 Local Install Source (Msocache)
3. Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
4. Click Add or Remove Programs.
5. In the Currently installed programs list, click Microsoft Office 2003, and then click Change.
6. In the Microsoft Office 2003 Setup dialog box, click Add or Remove Features under the Maintenance Mode Options area, and then click Next.
7. Under the Custom Setup area, click to select the Choose advanced customization of applications check box, and then click Next.
8. Under the Choose update options for applications and tools area, expand Microsoft Office Outlook.
9. Click the down arrow next to Importers and Exporters, and then click either the Run from My Computer option or the Run all from My Computer option.
10. In the Microsoft Office 2003 Setup dialog box, click Update.


Microsoft Office Outlook 2007
Insert the CD or DVD media when you are prompted. If you installed Outlook 2007 from a network share, make sure that the share is accessible from your workstation.

After you provide the setup files, the setup process will complete successfully. Additionally, any missing or corrupted files in the \MSOCache folder will be replaced.

If the same error occurs in the future, delete the \MSOCache folder, and then run the Online Microsoft Outlook setup 2007 process again. When run Setup again, make sure that you select the Repair option in the Change your installation window.

MORE INFORMATION

PIM formats
The following PIM program data files can be imported to Outlook 2007:
• Microsoft Excel
• Microsoft Access
• Comma Separated Values (CSV) Windows
• Comma Separated Values (CSV) DOS
• Tab Separated Values (TSV) Windows
• Tab Separated Values (TSV) DOS
• ACT! 3.x, ACT! 4.0, and ACT! 2000
• Organizer 4.x and Organizer 5.x
• Personal Address Book
The following PIM program data files can be imported to Outlook 2003:
• Microsoft Excel
• Microsoft Access
• Comma Separated Values (CSV) Windows
• Comma Separated Values (CSV) DOS
• Tab Separated Values (TSV) Windows
• Tab Separated Values (TSV) DOS
• Schedule + 7.x and Schedule + SC2 ACT! 3.x,
• ACT! 3.x, ACT! 4.0, and ACT! 2000
• Organizer 4.x and Organizer 5.x
• Personal Address Book
The following PIM formats can be exported from Outlook 2007 and from Outlook 2003:
• Microsoft Excel
• Microsoft Access
• Comma Separated Values (CSV) Windows
• Comma Separated Values (CSV) DOS
• Tab Separated Values (TSV) Windows
• Tab Separated Values (TSV) DOS

Note: Click For Online Email Support

External link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/829985/en-us?spid=2520&sid=312

Monday, October 13, 2008

mail Word 2007 Document For Reviews and Tracking Changes

Emailing a Word 2007 document to another user for review, meaning any changes they make it will track those changes in Word 2007, is a snap!

Getting it setup takes a few more steps than previous version of Word 2000, Word XP (2002) and Word 2003. Because in those versions it was a simple: File>Send To>Mail Recipient (For Review), and then click the Send (b) to email it off.

Stop bloviating and tell me where to do the same with Word 2007 you opine! Fine. But let me warn you that writing more than steps is not only therapeutic for me when it comes to blogging, but downright fun!

Email Word 2007 Document For Review and Tracking Changes Steps. First you have to add the Send For Review (b) to you QAT (Quick Access Toolbar). Yeah! I know there’s not another easier way I know of. So Right /QAT toolbar>Customize, /Choose commands arrow>All, scroll to & //Send for Review, /ok. Now on your QAT toolbar /Send for Review (b) and it will do two things: first attach your Word 2007 document into an email, and also it turns on the Track Changes (b) on the Review tab. Now just type in an email address and /Send (b) to email your document off to one of your Super Friends!

Once Wonder Woman (one of your Super Friends) opens the attachment and makes any changes to the document, it will track it i.e. if she deletes a word it will put a red line through it, and if she adds text it will color it in green. So when she’s done all she has to do email those changes back to you where you can, with the help of Reviewing tab, accept or reject her changes i.e. removing the red lines for deletions, or removing her added text.

You know you can just as easily open Word 2007, /Review tab & /the Track Changes (b) and turn on the changes yourself and the /Word’s Office Logo (b)>Send and email without having to add the Send For Review (b) to your QAT toolbar.

Having said that I bet you’re thinking: I wouldn’t choose Wonder Woman as a Super Friend with only a magic lasso to protect me, and second anybody can turn off the “Track Changes” feature and then I couldn’t protect my document from unwanted, trackable changes!

Yes, you’re right and so the only way to “protect” someone from messing with your document without being trackable, or seeing their changes is to follow these steps: /Developer tab>Protect group & /Protect Document (b)>Restrict Formatting and Editing, in Task Pane’s Editing restrictions section check “Allow only this…” box and /its arrow>Tracked changes & /Yes, Start Enforcing Protection (b) and type in your password.

Now that’s protection! Okay, having password protection on a document is like having a Super Friend like Superman protecting you. Invincible he is until some krptonite is found - iyogi computer help services breaks the password, but better than nothing eh?